• Welcome to BellGab.com Archive.

Radio Controlled Aircraft

Started by whoozit, September 19, 2016, 03:25:15 PM

whoozit

I know there are a few here that share my hobby.  I thought I'd start this thread to see if anyone wants to share pictures, ask questions or share their experience.  I have been flying since 2001.  This is a photo of a Top-Flite Cessna 310 I bought at auction last winter.  It has an 81 inch wingspan and is powered by two OS .55 AX engines which came in the airframe.  It also came with Robart pneumatic retracts installed.  I replaced the pneumatic actuators with electric ones.  I paid $300, but it easily came with over $1000 of stuff in it.  I hoped to get it ready to fly this year but will definitely have it ready next year.

whoozit

Here are a few photos of a hotliner I threw together for around $60.  It has a 23 inch wingspan and flies at about 70 mph.  It is fast for its size.  It has a 30A speed control and uses a 3 cell 850mah LiPo battery.  While a 20A speed control works (the plane used 17A at full throttle) I went with the 30A because there was not much of a weight penalty.  The unpainted version has a single aileron servo while the orange version has two so I can use flaperons to slow landing speed.  HobbyKing is a great source for inexpensive speed controllers and electric motors.

ItsOver

I only fly the electrics now, primarily the Horizon UMX's.  With the AS3X, they fly almost as well as the bigger birds and they're just easier to deal with, all around.  I'll be flying the following this morning:

The weather was perfect at twilight last night.  Cloudless sky, in the 70's, no wind.  I thermaled the little Radian for awhile and then, when it got too dark, broke out my Night Vapor.